Supporting Our Youth Cultivate. Create. Celebrate.

Cover Your Tracks

Clear your browser history and browse the web with more privacy.

Nothing can guarantee your privacy online. These instructions will help you have more privacy, but it is still possible that other people using the same device or checking your device or router will know what sites you have visited.

Clearing the history in your browser can remove sites from your history that are already listed. Using private browsing features on your browser can help keep sites out of the history of your browser.

Visit What Browser to check which browser you are using.

If your browser is not listed here or if you need more help search for "Clear Browser History" or "Private Browsing" with the name of your internet browser.

Google Chrome

Click on the “wrench” or “Menu” (three horizontal lines) icon, which is located near the top-right side of the browser window and then click History. This will take you to a list of all sites visited. Click the small arrow to the right of any site and choose “Remove from history” from the drop down that appears.

Click on the “wrench” or “Menu” (three horizontal lines) icon and go to Tools > Clear Browsing Data. Note that this will delete everything including saved passwords and all history and therefore may not be the best option.

Private Browsing

Click on the Menu (3 horizontal lines) or wrench Icon located at the top right of the screen. Choose “New Incognito Window”. Any sites visited in this window will not be traced.

Internet Explorer

You can delete your history  by clicking the “Tools” menu and going to  “Internet Options” and then ‘Delete Files or” “Delete”. Choose the site(s) you want to delete.

To delete all browsing data select “Tools” > “Delete Browsing History. Note that this will delete everything including saved passwords and all history and therefore may not be the best option.

Private Browsing

Click on the “Safety” button and go to In Private browsing. Any sites visited in this session will not be traced.

Mozilla Firefox

Click “History” from the menu and go to “Clear Recent History” and a new window will open. You can choose a length of time to delete information from. If in doubt choose ‘Today” and clear everything.

Private Browsing

From the “File” menu choose “New Private Window”. Any sites visited in this window will not be traced.

Apple Safari

To remove your history choose “History” > “Show History” from the menu at the top of  the screen. In the window that opens up you can remove sites one at a time by selecting them and pushing the delete button.

To remove more browsing data click “Safari” at the top of the screen and go to “Reset Safari”.

Private Browsing

Click ‘Safari” on the top left and go to Private Browsing.